Flash, dash, my mind’s a mash

Oh dear, here I am all blogs ready and waiting and my mind is a mishy mushy mash of glop, glooping down an otherwise empty corridor of closed doors.

I barely managed the Photo of the week. The prompt for the 100 Word Challenge has been out for days, and though I love the prompt itself, my mind won’t go there. The picture prompt for Flash Friday Fictioneers was just posted and again, my mind won’t go there. The doors remain shut, not a single one of them is even slightly cracked open in invitation. Oh wait, didn’t I have a dream last night? If only I could remember…

I think part of the problem is, I’ve been so concentrated on creating these blogs, finding the right layouts, getting started on each of them, and then going out and reading others blogs, commenting, enjoying, etc., that I’ve left a number of necessary tasks aside, and now they are weighing on my mind like a sinus headache without the pain, just that sense of heaviness and pressure.

Right now I am looking at a stack of envelopes that I set in plain view so I would attend to them. Official stuff, having to do with forms to be filled out, papers to find and copy to send, more forms, more papers, and that’s not even counting the income tax forms that also need doing. (Our due date here is March 15th, not April 15th as in the US.)

Okay, well, I do have a good excuse for why I haven’t started on those piles of paperwork – I’m waiting on yet another pair of glasses, my third pair, which will be for reading and paperwork. That will make three pairs of glasses to juggle, but at least I’ll be able to see clearly. Progressive lenses, you say? Been there, done that, can’t use them, my head tilts too easily, and I have trouble finding the right point of focus, but that’s another story in itself.

Anyway, here I am just rambling. I do that. This blog, in tuit, is not a blog for carefully crafted writing or journalistically beautiful prose on the meaning of life. If that’s what you’re looking for, well, sorry.

Does it mean I don’t have insights about life? Of course not. It’s just that my insights usually come from out of nowhere, I can’t construct them ahead of time, they just have to happen when they happen. Meanwhile, there’s a lot of rambling to get through, because that is what I do when I start writing “just me”. I ramble.

Oh, I can clean it up with the best of them for 100 word challenges or any similar writing exercise, but this isn’t an exercise, it’s my life. And my life is rambling, always has been, always will be. After all, isn’t that the best way to live in the moment? To let the moment take you where it will and experience it first hand without trying to guide your thoughts or control your words.

Go with the flow.

I feel better now. Thanks for reading – if you got this far. πŸ˜‰

9 responses

  1. […] tuit, this blog, has three new posts! – some ramblings,Β  and entry for Cee’s fabulous “Share Your World” theme, and this weeks Photo […]

  2. you’re off to an awesome start!

  3. Rambling is a start….then it’ll just flow like hitting the slot machine jackpot…just like when you said, “Go with the flow.” When I started I didn’t know how to go with blogging…I was totally clueless but with my patience, passion and perseverance…it can be done. To me , I discovered that what I’m passionate about is my family and so it kind of just revolves on it. Love , loss , laughter , pain…plus bits of photos to go. Wishing you all the best! Lets blog…

    1. Thank you so much for the encouragement. This is all so new to me, and I know I will find a rythm in time. Nice to have you drop by.

  4. Northern Narratives | Reply

    I think a rambling life is a good life πŸ™‚

    1. It’s the only one I’ve ever known, Thanks for the visit.

  5. I did … get this far πŸ™‚ and I truly enjoyed what I was reading! I’ve felt exactly that way you describe, about having set up the blog … the design and everything to your liking, and then finding yourself with *all the doors closed*.

    I had so much fun yesterday, thanks to the link I found in yours, about the digital art.

    To live in the moment …. that’s way to go, but often easier said than done..

    1. Thanks for the visit, coolfeline, I guess it’s not that unusual to feel that blank, I think sometimes the mind just needs a rest.

      Glad you enjoyed the digital art exercise – I plan to do more, it’s something so fun, and you can get even stranger results the more you play with the settings.

      Live in the moment -definitely not easy, but the rewards are sweet. I only manage it part of the time, but I’m working on it. I think it has to do with just staying awake to what is going on around you.

Leave a Reply

