No Resolutions

2016

What is it about the turning over of one number on a calendar that makes us want to review our life of the year before and make “resolutions” to either improve our life or change something to make it better?

I don’t make New Years resolutions. Even so, I find myself thinking things like, “This year I will come to my WordPress Blog and I will post more often, I will make an effort to visit other blogs, be more present.”

Sounds like a resolution to me. The thing is, it shouldn’t take moving into a new year to get me up and running again on the blog. And I know perfectly well that no matter how much I may intend to do something, such as write more often, any good intentions are just a breeze passing by. Until and unless I put it into action, it doesn’t count.

So, no resolutions for me. I am at peace, my life is blessedly uneventful, and I like it that way. Still, I do get the occasional urge to write, to be creative, perhaps look for some writing challenges on here, or call up a few random memories to write about. So when that happens I will write. But I won’t force it.

I hope the changes here at WordPress don’t make things too difficult. Last time I wrote I could still find their old layout for creating posts – now everything is new to me. It looks fairly intuitive, so I imagine I will get used to it.

I may have to change my layout though. The text on here is too small for me, though that may be because I have a new laptop with a slightly higher resolution. The old one bit the dust, thanks to a stupid decision on my part. It was working fine, just getting a bit sluggish, so I decided to reformat it and re-install Windows 7. Bad decision!

But is it? That bad decision got me a new laptop, after all. It’s all in how you look at it.

Everything is a matter of perspective. And that pretty much sums up my life. So if there is one wish I have for others for this new year, it is this:

May your eyes be open and your heart willing to perceive good in all matters that move you along your path.

Happy 2016 to all who pass by.

2 responses

  1. Happy New Year, Judee! Making no resolutions is a great resolution. LOL. Couldn’t resist. I do the same resolution each year. The only one kind that I can keep. đŸ™‚
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

    1. Thanks for dropping by! Btw, I tried to comment on your most recent post but for some reason it kept popping me back into the input box whenever I clicked on Publish. (I was using my WordPress account to comment) You might want to check that out.

Leave a Reply

