Twenty-Thirteen Ramblings: Resolve

newyear

I wonder how many blogs will be posting New Years Resolutions for 2013? A bunch, I bet. It’s tradition, after all. And because it’s tradition, it often becomes something done by rote, without any real thought. We make a list of things we want to do or accomplish, things we want to change about our life, our behavior. All with good intentions.

The problem with good intentions and with most resolutions is that they lack the fullness of resolve. No matter how sincere our intentions, our resolutions, without a sense of resolve they are just words on a list.

Have you made such a list? If so, how many of the resolutions on your list are based on wishing or hoping or simply good intentions for improvement, and how many actually have a sense of resolve attached to them?

Resolve goes beyond intent. Resolve gives a sense of purpose, of determination. You feel resolve deep within you.  If you read over your list of resolutions, and pay attention to what you feel in your body, you will find that most of them are felt in your head. Maybe a few in the heart.

But the onlygut ones that will really get done are those you feel in your gut. Because it takes guts to move forward with anything important. And if you have the determination to change, that is where you will feel it. Resolve is not light and airy, it is deep and personal.  You’ll know it when you feel it. And when you feel it, you can and will accomplish anything you want.

I don’t make lists of resolutions. As most of you have figured out, I’m not that traditional. 😉  And honestly? I don’t know what I would change if I could. I’m content with my life as it is. Yes, I’d like to sell the house, and am determined to do so this year, but that is something I really have no control over, aside from accepting or rejecting any offers.  I have ideas of projects I’d like to do, art projects in particular, but I don’t have enough resolve about them to even imagine I might accomplish them. Maybe I will, maybe I won’t.

fireworks2013

Most resolutions are as fleeting as fireworks. We make them, admire them, and then when the show is over, we forget them and go on our way. I love a good show just like anyone, but I’m content to watch and read what others post, and wonder which resolutions will last beyond the initial display and take on that resolve that is so important.

My only true resolve this year is to be at peace with myself.  And that’s an easy one.  🙂

May each of you find the resolve to accomplish your most important goals, and the peace of mind to let go of those goals that are not important.

Wishing you All health, happiness, and a home full of love (even if you live alone) in the coming year and more. It all starts right here, right now.

Above all, Enjoy.

Judee

sylvester-67358_640

13 responses

  1. This is so relevant to each one of us Judee.

    What is it that can fuel and sustain strong resolve? What could be done to disengage ourselves from distractions as we follow our resolve?

    Loved the post!

    Shakti

    1. Thank you so much Shakti, nice of you to drop by!

    1. Thank you, and back atcha!

    1. Thank you nia, lovely to see you. You have a wonderful new year too!

  2. May all your wishes come to you in 2013.. 😉

    1. Now, that would be nice! Thanks for the good wishes, and many of the same back atcha!

  3. Happy New Year Judee, may it be a happy and healthy one for you. And such a lovely firework photo, thank you.

    1. Happy New Year to you, too, Sandra, love the hat! Be well and happy in all endeavors!

    1. sorry to hear that Carl

Leave a Reply

