100 Word Challenge Week 163

it can't be that timeI’m late, Week 163 is past and no more Linkys, but I wrote it and am posting it anyway. I admit I had seen the topic earlier in the week, and was at a loss for inspiration – the prompt,  “Freedom,” is such a huge word. But after posting some early memories, I decided to use them with a huge amount of creative license, and came up with this tiny tale of a tiny tot. I hope you like it. I’m out of practice, so please bear with me. 🙂

*****

I’m Free   (100 words)

 

Happy bubbles bounced in Deeny’s tummy.

“I’m free, Mommy, I’m free!”

Mommy lifted her fingers from the Don’t-Touch and frowned down at her. “You’re three. Say it.”

Deeny tried very hard. “Twreee?”

“That’s better.”

The bubbles bounced again, spilling out, “I’m twree, Mommy!”

“Don’t call me Mommy! I’m your Mother. Say it!”

“Mo-ther?”

“Yes. You’re three, you’re too old to say Mommy. Say it again, but right.”

“I’m twree, mo-mother.”

“That’s better. Now go play while I finish this.”

Deeny went to her room. She picked up PoohBear, hugging him tight.

“I’m free,” she whispered.

But the bubbles were gone.

*****

8 responses

  1. Very touching story, particularly the last line. Well done.

    1. Thank you Sandra. 🙂 I’m kind of out of practice, so the 100 word limit is challenging, but I really enjoyed jumping back in.

  2. This is kind of sad! A great tale 🙂

    1. Yes, kind of sad. But children are resilient ,thank goodness! Thank you for commenting, Aileen, nice of you to drop by! 🙂

  3. Wonderful transfer and a delightful story. I love it. ❤ ❤

    1. Thank you Tess. It’s funny what things can transfer into 100 words. Nice of you to drop by!

      1. Nice to see you among us again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

