Share Your World 2015 Weeks 1&2

share-your-worldI enjoy visiting Cee’s blog and the many challenges on it, most of which are photo challenges, some of hers and some of others – she’s a fantastic photographer and I really enjoy seeing her work. In addition to those, Cee has one weekly “challenge” that I particularly enjoy – the Share Your World challenges – not really a challenge, more of a way to share information about yourself in a fun way. It involves simply answering a series of questions each week. I would like to participate this year, and hope I will keep up. No promises, I’ve already missed the first week, so this week I will reply to both sets of questions. Each week will link to its home page at Cee’s place for the original questions, if you wan to see what others have done. So without further ado, here are my responses to Weeks One and Two.

Week One

telemarketingHow do you get rid of pesky phone calls from telemarketers? It really depends on my mood. If I have time and their call has not interrupted something, I may listen to them, let them give their whole speech, and then politely decline, telling them they did a good job. I figure it’s good practice for them to get through their speech at least once in awhile without interruption. I imagine that’s pretty rare. πŸ˜‰ Usually, though, I am less than patient at which time I may have to interrupt them after the first sentence. Have you noticed how they rarely pause long enough for you to get a word in? If I say I’m not interested and then they ask why, or try to argue the point, I have been known to launch into a long detailed, and made up discussion as to why their product won’t work for me. Again, it depends on my mood and what I was doing at the time. If it happens more than once in a week, though, I may simply hang up on them. Not polite, but my tolerance level fluctuates. Sometimes, simply hanging up is the kindest action, it doesn’t waste their time, or mine.

What are you a β€œnatural” at doing? Writing. For me, writing is more natural than talking.

How often do you get a haircut? Once a year. Every summer I have my hair cut really really short, boy-short, and then let it grow out during the year. I keep saying I will cut it twice a year, but that hasn’t happened in a long while.

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word β€œfun”? Computer games. Yes, I am a true geek. πŸ˜‰

Week Two

Are you a hugger or a non-hugger? Absolutely a hugger. Unfortunately, I have found that Europeans, in general, (or at least those in Switzerland) don’t hug a lot. A typical greeting to a friend here is the “air kiss” on each cheek. If you try to hug someone they look on it almost as invading their personal space. Thank goodness for my daughters! They are my only source for hugs, and so much appreciated. πŸ™‚

Strawberry_ice_creamWhat’s your favorite ice-cream flavor? I like simple flavors the best. If I can add topping, then definitely vanilla, with hot chocolate sauce, my absolute favorite. A close second, and without toppings, would be Strawberry. Interestingly,Β  strawberry ice cream is not that common here. I do find it on occasion, but not often.

Do you prefer exercising your mind or your body? How frequently do you do either? Absolutely no contest, the mind. My body doesn’t exercise, mostly due to physical conditions. But I try to exercise my mind every day, at least in my own way.

Are you more of a dog person or a cat person? Why? All my life I’ve had dogs, so I would have to choose that. But deep down I think I am more of a cat person. Alas, allergies have kept me from ever having any. Now that I’m older and basically unable to do all the things a dog would need – daily walks, several times a day, I find myself pet-less. A cat would be perfect for me, but the allergies are simply too big a hurdle.

Thank you Cee for this fun challenge! I hope I can keep up! πŸ™‚

7 responses

  1. I’m thrilled to see you participating in Share Your World. I hope this find you well and having fun. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Cee! I always enjoy reading these, figured it was time to participate! πŸ™‚

  2. Sorry about your allergies. I agree a cat would be perfect company for you. I don’t know what I’d do without my little fur ball. Nice you’re taking part in Cee’s challenge. I’m learning interesting things about you. ❀ Thank you for sharing.

    1. Yes, it’s sad when allergies keep us from such interesting company. Cats have always fascinated me, they seem like they would make great companions. Alas, it was not to be! Thanks for visiting, Tess!

      1. Nice to see you again. It’s been a long time in between. πŸ™‚

  3. I can sympathise on the pet allergies. I love animals but have to go through a horrendous desensitisation process which might take six weeks or more with each animal (more with dogs than cats) and includes asthma and skin rashes. Glad you’re enjoying Cee’s challenges, I do the ‘Odd-Ball’ as you probably know. Hope you keep this up.

    1. I hope I keep it up, too, but make no promises, lol. Thanks for dropping by, Sandra. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

