Sunday Scatterings 04.22.12

Well, well, well… ahem. Yes, I can count. I’ve missed not one, but two Sundays in my Scatterings. So much for good intentions. πŸ˜‰

So, catching up, here are my posts from the past 3 weeks. Sadly not a whole lot, but hey, that’s okay. It is what it is. πŸ™‚

in tuitΒ Β  You can just scroll down the main page or click on the links to see that since my last SS on April 1st, I’ve posted only four times in this particular blog. A Word About Awards was a difficult decision for me, because I do appreciate your kindness. I need to update the awards page, too, with more thank yous. I wish I had more time and energy to play the games, but hey, maybe later. In Rambling: Sleepless Night I admit, it was a bit of a pouring out, and I was so surprised at how many of you offered your support and encouragement and good ole zen feelings. It really did help. So of course, the next post was properly titled Feeling Better. πŸ™‚Β  Just in time for my birthday on April 9th, when I turned Sixty.

a round tuitΒ  Alas, only one post in my art blog. And of course, it’s a Sunday Post: Blossom. The funny thing is, I’ve been concentrating on some art programs which is part of the reason there is so little – I’m having to figure out and learn the programs, install stuff, etc. It all takes time. But maybe I’ll have some time this week, we’ll see.

write tuitΒ  Usually my most prolific blog, due to all the interesting writing challenges, I’m rather sorry to say that in the past three weeks, I’ve only participated in three challenges. At least they were each a different one. Trying not to play favorites, cause they are all my favorites, but I also have to go with the inspiration of the moment. In Julia’s 100 Word Challenge for Grownups, thank goodness we had two weeks, so I was able to get my short tale, Daddy’s Girl in on time. Just under the wire.Β  I only managed one Friday Fictioneers, hosted by Madison Woods. And even though it was for a Friday, the title was Wednesday.Β  The most recent writing challenge for this period is one hosted by Chris Donner. She comes up with some really different and interesting challenges for the “I Always Wanted to Write” – or – IAWTW challenge. Reunion was my offering for the most recent one. Three tales in three weeks. I know… gotta pull myself together!

tuit dreamsΒ  I’ve actually been dreaming a lot recently, but not capturing them when I wake. Well, we all dream every night, of course, but I mean, I’ve been waking with dreams in my mind and then just losing them with the movement of the day. I really need to work on that. The two I managed to capture and write down are Vampire and Job Interview. I also had a dream about an apartment I had looked at online, but didn’t record it because I couldn’t remember anything other than that it was about that apartment. Makes me think I should go take a look at it, at least.

Life AdaptedΒ  Yeah, I know, the rarest of the rare, I actually posted in this blog. A post on Cancer Survivorship Today which even includes a short video. I had such plans for that blog, but for some reason, I seem to get writers block or rather bloggers block when it comes to posting in it. I think I have so much to say that I just don’t know where to start.

So there you are, a summation fo my last three weeks blogging posts. I’ve also been very lax in reading blogs – just haven’t had a lot of time.

So what have I been doing instead? Well, I already mentioned one thing – installing and watching videos to learn some new elements of a computer graphics program, but especially downloading content to use in it. I know that doesn’t make a lot of sense to you, but it will eventually. I have a lot of content to download, and it just takes time. And more time. and more time.

I’ve also been doing some sorting at home – and that’s tricky, because I have to balance out the work to be done with my physical limitations. My daughters are helping. The one who is working and living in her own apartment has been coming over on the weekends and she and her sister have been going through “stuff” – mostly their own til now, but they’re beginning to get to the stuff I will be giving input on. But there are certain things they can’t help with – like my clothes, and my books.

You wouldn’t believe how many clothes I have that I’ve not even thought of wearing is at least 5 years or longer. They still fit – well, most of them. Some are too small, and some are too big, (that was a surprise!) but most still fit, yet I never wear them. So out they go. I really want to move as “lightly” as possible when I finally do find an apartment (and of course get the house sold).

And books! I know I can’t possible take them all with me. And with my eyesight problems, I really do better reading on the Kindle. But some books I just can’t let go of, even if the print is too small for me. I love my Kindle, but it’s just not the same as being able to flip through the pages of a book. I’m trying to whittle them down to where they will all fit into one tall bookshelf with 6 or 7 rows.Β  Just my favorites. Just so I can occasionally pick them up and fan the pages.

Nostalgia? Yes, but only with books. Everything else will be either given away or thrown away – if I haven’t used it in the past few years, I’m not likely to use it ever, so out it goes.

I want my next home/apartment to be clutter free, simple, cozy, and comfortable, with just the bare essentials. I can almost taste the anticipation of letting go of all this accumulated weight from the past. And it feels good.

The blogging isn’t on hold, it’s just whittled down a bit, like everything else. I give it what attention I can, while moving back and forth with daily life – blogging and reading, sorting and resting, real estate discussions and apartment hunting, doctor appointments, groceries, being creative, learning programs, playing games, this and that, whatever falls into the moment.

Because ultimately, the moment is all there is.

So in this moment, I am signing off and wishing you all a fine week of lovely moments.

Judee

8 responses

  1. Glad to see you again Judy , You have a great post here excellent work πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you jake. πŸ™‚ Nice to see you.

  2. How did you get a picture of my closet? ;P
    I think, where Spring cleaning is concerned, having the intention to do it all has to count for something….right? πŸ˜€

    1. Lol, intentions, now that would make a good blog subject. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the visit, and the laugh. πŸ™‚

  3. Ah Judee, it is so good to see you out and about this morning. You’ll love your clutter free life. If it weren’t for moving, I’d be up to my eyeballs in ‘stuff’, which ultimately is what most ‘stuff’ is, just stuff!. I wish I had a dollar for every item of stuff I donated over the years due to moves. I’d no doubt be rich! πŸ™‚ Here’s wishing you a very peaceful, relaxing week.

    1. Ha, speaking of dollars – my daughters kept saying at first we should try to sell some of the “stuff” – put pictures online, etc. I then asked them if they wanted to handle it, the accounts, the emails, being there when people picked up stuff. Guess their answer. It’s much easier and more fulfilling to give it away. Thanks for coming by. πŸ™‚

  4. I wondered what you were up to…now I know! I think I’ll take some time and poke around ALL of your blogs this morning. My dog woke me up at 5am (the stinker!) so here I am…me and my coffee πŸ™‚ Talking about clearing things out makes me want to go through our place room by room and give at least half the heave ho!

    1. Wow, thanks for all the visits, I just saw them in my email. So nice of you to check around. As for cleaning out stuff, yeah, it feels so good to do – unfortunately, I haven’t done any Spring or otherwise cleaning since we moved here 15 years ago. Lol, that’s a lot of stuff to go through, I’m glad my daughters will be helping. Thanks for dropping by Jeannie, big hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

