Rambling: Sleepless night

I haven’t felt this physically tired in a long time. And I get pretty tired anyway, lol, so that’s saying something.ย  I don’t know why, but suddenly my sleep patterns seem disrupted – I used to be able to go to bed and sleep as soon as my head hit the pillow, and slept through til morning. Not so much lately. Instead, I’m finding it harder to get comfortable – even in my giant water-bed that I love. And my mind…

Last night I couldn’t turn it off. It would work through one subject and just when I thought I might drift off, it would switch gears and start thinking about something else. When I finally did get to sleep, I fell into a really weird dream about vampires, of all things (and no I haven’t been watching or reading any vampire tales lately.)

Normally I am not the worrying kind. I just take life as it comes, and truly believe it all works out – and it does. Usually. But lately I’ve been faced with a lot of things I have to “handle” and can’t just sit back and let it slide. Like trying to sell my house, wondering it I’ll be able to find an apartment either to buy or rent. It’s not as easy as one might think. I know the housing market in the US is tough, but it’s just the opposite here, in Switzerland. There is a lack of housing, especially in the area I live, and they can’t build apartments fast enough to sell them. Anything new is reserved a couple of years in advance, while older properties are few and far between.

It should be fairly easy to sell my house, but finding a place to move to will be a challenge. So I spend a lot of time looking online, trying to figure out what my budget will be, how I’m going to afford anything in the region, etc. Then I worry about how I’ll be able to sort through all the stuff we’ve accumulated over the past 15 years in this home, especially since I’m not physically able to do it. And there is just so much STUFF! I think I did a mental inventory of every corner of the house last night, including the basement and storage rooms. Sheesh!

So today, I’m literally knocked out. I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck, my usual pain levels are tripled, and I wanted to spend the day writing but here it is mid afternoon already and I’ve not even looked at this week’s challenges. I guess it will have to wait til next week.

Anyway, if I usually leave notes and likes on your blog, but haven’t been around as much the past 10 days or so, you know why.

Oh, and I did have the first visitor to the house – but now it’s Easter weekend, and everyone takes off, including Realtors, so I won’t even know it they are interested until next week. of course, it would be really rare to get an offer from the first people who came to see it…

I just wish it was done. I’m getting too old for this. My next apartment, if I can find one to buy, will be my last cause I’m not moving again unless it’s into assisted living. It’s just too hard.

At least I should get a good night’s sleep tonight!

I haven’t forgotten you all,

Judee

15 responses

  1. […] with more thank yous. I wish I had more time and energy to play the games, but hey, maybe later. In Rambling: Sleepless Night I admit, it was a bit of a pouring out, and I was so surprised at how many of you offered your […]

  2. I know how you feel about being a little behind, Judee … obviously. I’ve been trying to catch up all week myself. I wish you the best of luck in finding a nice apartment where you’ll be happy and comfortable. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you so much, sweet of you to drop by. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Miami over 20% in foreclosure. Can’t get 30 cents on a dollar for my place.

    1. I’ve heard it was bad over there, but don’t think I realized how bad!

  4. Moving. I will NEVER move again. My last move was three years ago and I thought it would KILL me. Stuff. Yes. Too much of it. I can’t believe how much I got rid of and after three years HERE am still endeavouring to let go.

    No wonder you’re not sleeping and not sleeping is making everything worse. Hopefully, you’ll be able to relax soon, get the proper sleep and take one step at a time. Good luck. Fingers crossed.

    1. Thank you Tess. And boy do I hear you – one reason I feel stressed is that i hope to buy an apartment that will be my home for the rest of my life – but may have to capitulate and rent for a year(or more) first, in order to get something new. I just want to settle in and live out my last years in peace, be they 10, 20 or more years. I have to admit, it will feel so good to get rid of so much Stuff! Thanks so much for your visit.

  5. I can relate to what you are going through.
    I am also in the verge of moving and mental inventorying is going on ๐Ÿ™‚
    Even without that, I’ve difficulty sleeping unless and until I am bone tired…

    Wishing you all the best …

    1. Thank you amira, i appreciate the kind thoughts. And I hope your move goes smoothly.

  6. you never know who will buy or not…we sold a house once (on our own!) and the first person in bought it! I spent the rest of the day fending off realtors! LOL Everything will work out as it should, so try to just go with the flow. Often, solutions appear out of nowhere, even with stacked odds against. One day at a time my dear and I’ll be sending good vibes your way and prayers for peace of mind. Hang in there! xoxo

    1. Thank you Jeannie, and you are right of course, you can never tell when everything will turn around and be settled. One day at a time. I so appreciate your good vibes, thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Keep your chin up Judee. Things always look bleaker in the night, and bleaker still in the aftermath of a really bad night. Just go with the flow, let things happen, and wait for a time when you feel stronger to make a start on all the things that need to be done. Moving house IS stressful, and it all seems so much worse than it is at times like these.

    We’ve moved 12 times in 18 years, at least half a dozen of these being international moves. Some I handled better than others, but we got through. As you will. Just one step at a time. Thinking of you.

    1. Oh my goodness, Sandra, 12 moves in 18 years? And yet you got through them, and so shall I. You are right about the aftermath of a bad night, I do feel better this morning after a good night’s sleep. Bless you for your good thoughts, and taking the time to offer them.

  8. If I could reach out and help you somehow, I would. But, being here in the U.S., I can’t be much help other than to encourage you that this too shall pass. Our family just went through a similar time. I was feeling so totally overwhelmed and stressed, I too wasn’t sleeping. I couldn’t focus because there was just TOO MUCH. It does settle down. And, it will for you. So sorry to hear you going through this. Just know you are in my prayers and thoughts. ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Thank you so much, I truly appreciate your kind thoughts. It’s true that when there is so much ahead, it’s hard to focus on the moment. I have to remind myself that this is just another step along the road. Your encouragement means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

