Share Your World 16

This is week 16 for Cee’s Share Your World where each week Cee poses 4 or 5 questions for us to get to know each other better. I’ve missed a couple of weeks, couldn’t be avoided, but absolutely wanted to participate this week so you (and Cee) would know I haven’t abandoned it, just doing it when I can.

If you’d like to participate or just see what answers others have given, click on the logo or the link above it and check it out. The more, the merrier!

The questions for this week:

  1. If you had a choice, which would be your preference: salt water beaches, fresh water lakes, hot tub, or desert?
  2. What book do you think everyone should read and why?
  3. What’s your favorite way to wake up and what’s the first thing you do?
  4. What do you do to relax?

My Answers:

If you had a choice, which would be your preference: salt water beaches, fresh water lakes, hot tub, or desert? 

You know, I really had to think about this. I live near a fresh water lake and love it, there are pebble and rock beaches instead of sand, and the wind causes mild waves to wash up on the shore. Sorry I don’t have a picture, but I don’t get out that often anymore. My truest desire though, would have to be salt water beaches. I’ve always loved the ocean, the smell of salt water beaches, the sand beneath my feet. I think if I had a choice, I’d choose that. Though I’d probably want it to be on a private island so there wouldn’^t be any crowds of people there, lol. But even so, if I’ll honest I have to say my aging body would probably prefer a hot tub!

What book do you think everyone should read and why?

Illusions, by Richard Bach. He’s the one who wrote Jonathon Livingston Seagull. Illusions is perhaps less well known, but is nonetheless thought provoking and soul enriching. Two of my favorite lines from the book:

Argue for your limitations, and sure enough, they’re yours.
-and-
You teach best what you most need to learn.”

What’s your favorite way to wake up and what’s the first thing you do?

My favorite way to wake up is naturally, with the sun, and my mind still halfway inside a dream, drawing it with me or leaving it behind as I slide easily into my morning. Unfortunately, while it may work sometimes, and I often enough do wake around the same time, on occasion I’ve slept through the morning and awakened only around 2 in the afternoon! My daughter now knows to wake me if I’m not up before she leaves. I hate alarm clocks. As for the first thing I do, it’s turn on my computer, grab a cup of Instant Human, and sit back comfortably to read my mail. Isn’t that what we all do? 😉

What do you do to relax?

For relaxing, I read or listen to an audiobook. I also like to play what I call “desktop” games – card games and puzzle games, not online, but against the AI of the game. One of my favorites is Canasta. It’s in many ways less high-tech, more about the game, and the fun part is that there is a computer AI voice that talks to me and addresses me by name, things like, “Hello Judee, welcome back.” and “Goodbye Judee, come back soon.” and of course gameplay in between. I know it’s silly, but it’s just a nice little touch. Once I’m actually in bed, I usually just read until I am sleepy.

So, those are my answers. I have a lot of reading to catch up on, some writing challenges too, so please understand if I don’t get to yours immediately, but I do want to see what others have written so will be popping in and out for that throughout the week.

Cee, thanks again for the fun!

17 responses

  1. […] tuit (this blog) Cee’s Share Your World 16 with some interesting […]

  2. Great post Judee 🙂

    1. Thank you jake, nice to see you.

  3. Great answers! I enjoyed reading them. I like to wake up the same way….definitely…and love the way you put it!
    I also love to be near water…. (but I’m not every day…unless a floodplain counts!)
    It’s nice to meet you Judee….thanks for coming by my blog! I like yours!

    1. Thank you Judy, drop by anytime. 🙂

  4. This has been a fun exercise. It’s amazing how many people are attracted to water.

  5. loved your answers!

  6. You have been awarded with “The Versatile Blogger” Award. Feel free to check it out at http://missperfectlyimperfect.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/yeah-you-could-call-me-versatile/

    Thanks for writing 🙂

    Tina

    1. Thank you so much, Tina, so thoughtful of you! 🙂

  7. I’ve actually taken a few classes from Donna Eden herself. Talk about someone with phenomenal energy!!!

    1. Wow, I’m impressed. That must have been an incredible experience. I had her on tape, but they’re all video cassettes, I should see what’s available in dvd now.

  8. I loved your conversation on water….What I thought you might like is maybe an ocean drum … http://www.amazon.com/Remo-Ocean-Drum-Fish-Heads/dp/B0002F7KSI This is a link to amazon.com It’s their biggest drum. They have smaller ones too. Chris got me one when i was in the hospital the first time, because I so craved the water. It acutally is so soothing, full of energy, and sounds exactly like the ocean waves. I might have to get mine out today to play and listen. Playing this drum all you do is hold it and move it from side to side.

    1. Wow, thanks for the link, I’ve never seen that. It must be so soothing to listen to. Thanks for the visit!

  9. I can’t even function if I don’t start the day with a cup of coffee. And you’re right about “Illusions”, it is a great book, although I think “The Prophet” is my all time favorite. Nice post, Judee.

    1. Yes. The Prophet is a beautiful book. And The Little Prince. So many to choose from. Thank you for stopping by and saying hello. 🙂

  10. lovely selection of answers, enjoyed read..;)

    1. Thank you, I appreciate the visit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

