Share Your World 12

Another Share Your World, hosted by Cee. This is week 12 for her, I think maybe the third one for me. It may be the longest one, too, because the first question is one that stimulated me to go off hunting, hope you don’t mind all the vids, but hey, music is always great to share, right? To see how Cee and others have respond to this week’s questions, just click on the image below.

This week’s questions:

  1. What songs are included on the soundtrack to your life?
  2. What is your favorite time of day?
  3. What is your favorite part of the town/city you live in.  And what City and Country do you live?
  4. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?

My answers:

**************

What songs are included on the soundtrack to your life?

Okay, this may seem silly, but I’ve included a couple of children’s songs I used to listen to as a child, because I think sometimes music can influence children, inspire them, and make them pay attention to things they might not otherwise notice. Or, maybe they notice and remember certain music because it reflects something within them? Either way, here are two of my very first 45 rpm songs –

Shake Me I Rattle  (Cristy Lane)
(…)
They were closing up the toy shop
as I hurried through the door
just in time to buy the dolly
that her heart was longing for

It’s a story of what these days we would call a Random Act of Kindness. It was my first exposure to the concept of heartfelt giving, and it has stayed with me all my life.

The second of my favorite 45’s as a child is the following song – I couldn’t find the original version, but this one is sweetly presented, and closest to the original in terms of feelings evoked.

Sing a Rainbow  (??)
Red and yellow and pink and green
purple and orange and blue
I can sing a rainbow
Sing a rainbow
Sing a rainbow too.
Listen with your eyes
Listen with your eyes
and sing everything you see
You can sing a rainbow
sing a rainbow
sing along with me.

The idea of listening with your eyes, and singing a rainbow, had an impact on my way of looking at the world, the mere idea of hearing colors, that the senses could be intertwined so easily. Childhood was magical for me, and this was just a part of the magic.

Moving on into the teen years, my theme song,

Hey Jude (The Beatles)
Hey Jude, don’t make it bad,
take a sad song and make it better.
Remember to let her into your heart,
then you can start to make it better.

There are so many memories attached to that one song, I can’t even begin to tell them, just to say, it was my “coming of age” song, and it is a song that always stayed with me, even to this day.

Three down, three to go –

Bridge over Troubled Water  (Simon and Garfunkle)
When you’re weary, feeling small,
when tears are in your eyes,
I will dry them all. I’m on your side.
When times get rough,
and friends just can’t be found,
like a bridge over troubled water,
I will lay me down.

This is all I’ve ever wanted out of life, to help others, be their bridge and take them past their pain. It is a strong theme in my life.

Let it Be  (The Beatles)
Speaking words of wisdom,
“Let it Be.”
Whisper words of wisdom,
“Let it Be.”
There will be an answer
“Let it be.”
Shine until tomorrow
“Let it be.”

What else is there to say? Oh, yes, the other questions…

What is your favorite time of day?  Morning and late at night  Morning because it’s when my energy levels are highest, late at night because it’s when I sit back, relax and either read or listen to audiobooks.

What is your favorite part of the town/city you live in.  And what City and Country do you live? That’s hard to answer because the town I live in is hardly big enough to call a town, at least in terms of what most people in the US would imagine. There isn’t much here, but I do have a view, of Lake Geneva. Check my blog a round tuit for the latest Sunday Post and you’ll see a picture taken from my study window. I live in Switzerland, a long way from Texas where I grew up. This year will make half of my life that I am here.

If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?  Listening. I’m a good listener, and I don’t judge people, perhaps that’s why people tend to find me to talk to when they have something troubling them. I never tell them what to do, I just give them my perspective, and ask questions to make them think, to reflect on what it is they really want in a given situation.

**********

Again, thank you Cee, for some stimulating questions. And for those of you who managed to read this far, thanks for reading and visiting.

— Judee

12 responses

  1. Another inspiring post with so much heart in it. Beautiful words, so soothing to the weary soul. The lyrics of the song Bridge Over Troubled Water, “When you’re weary, feeling small,
    when tears are in your eyes,
    I will dry them all. I’m on your side, ” seemed to be the same words my heart feels every now and then. Wishing you all life’s blessings…

    1. Thank you so much, your words mean a lot to me. Blessings to you.

  2. […] Post: Last week’s theme Landscape in a round tuit Share Your World: this past week, SYW #12 in this blog, in tuit 100 Word challenge from Julia’s Place  Leap in write tuit Friday […]

  3. http://photographyofnia.com/2012/03/02/i-am-honored/
    I nominated your blog for Kreativ Blogger Award. You can read in my blog. Thank you, have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

    1. Thank you so much Nia, this is very sweet of you to think of me. I will post this soon – been a bit under the weather and need to gather some energy. This made me feel so much better!

      1. Congratulations dear Judee, you deserve awards, I am so glad to meet with you. Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  4. Greetings Judee, While I don’t have time right now to play whole the game, I have to say, when I think of John Lennon, “Imagine” always come to mind. May John RIP. He was a gift to the world. But I must add, you have wonderful taste in music.

    1. Thank you for stopping by, and yes, Imagine was actually on my list, but I felt the post was getting too long so I left it out. There are others I could add too, but oh well, there were other questions. 😉

  5. I’m listening to your songs now. Great choices. I can image you being a great listener. Thanks so much for participating.

    1. Glad you like the songs, Cee, and thanks for dropping in .

  6. It’s a talent, you know, being a good listener. Good for you!

    1. Thank you, and thanks for the visit.

Leave a Reply

