Saturday Centus: the chair

Jenny Matlock is at it again with this week’s Saturday Centus.

She included a picture in this one, but allowed that we might use other chairs. Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of the chair I used in my 100 word story, so I will have to ask for your indulgence on that. The phrase is six words, so we are allowed a total of 106 words for our story.

This week’s Prompt:

The chair dominated the small room

The Chairย  106 words

********************

The chair dominated the small room, taking up a good portion of the free space to the right of the bed. It was soft and worn, the cushioned seat molded by years of use, a mirror of her buttocks and back.. Now visitors sat in it, and found it uncomfortable, as if its form rejected them, still waiting for her to come and sit, read a book, dream a dream, as she had so often.

And then the waiting was over. She called the nurse to her, asked her to help her to the chair. She sank into its welcoming embrace one last time, and smiled.

********************

29 responses

  1. Oh my.

    I just finished writing part one of a story about the day my sister died…and this spoke right to my heart.

    What a poignant and beautiful gem of writing from this prompt.

    Absolutely lovely.

    Thank you for sharing this.

    I will go find a kleenex now.

    1. Jenny, I’m so sorry for your loss. Thank you so much for the lovely comment. I know some tales “hit home” more deeply when someone has had a similar experience, but it’s sad when that experience is one of loss. I know it must be difficult for you, writing about your sister, and I wish you courage. I do know that writing about something tragic can be a kind of release, so I hope you find that. Hugs to you. – Judee

  2. Lovely text. This reminds me of my parents. The very last year of my father’s life, my mother helped him out of bed and into the wheel chair each morning. She made sure that he was dressed in normal clothes during the day and changed into pyjamas for night. He was only bedridden the very last week of his life. I think her loving efforts kept him alive. That being able to sit in a chair rather than just lying in a bed, can be so important when everything else has been taken from you.

    Best wishes,
    Anna

    1. Thank you for the visit and comment, Anna. I agree, it is so important to be as much up and about as possible, I’m sure it prolonged his life.

  3. Oh! And thank you for stopping by my blog earlier.
    โ™ฅMelody

  4. It’s funny how a chair will do that: either repel or embrace. Nice writing ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you Melody. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. that was sad in a way but strangely comforting. As if she was not adverse to the next journey and had decided to leave this world in a settled and relaxed way.

    1. Thank you kara, I was hoping to express that.

  6. Beautiful. Reminded me of my dad and his favorite, well-worn chair.

    1. Thank you for the comment and the read. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I started working in a nursing home as a nurse almost two years ago. I LOVE working with the elderly, it’s definitely my forte. This piece was very touching and beautifully written.

    1. Thank you so much, and bless you for the work you do, not many people are cut out to care for the elderly, it is a special calling and wonderful way to give.

  8. Well done and rings true.

    =)

    1. Thank you Sue. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. So sad, made me teary eyed. Wonderful writing, especially the line with mirror.

    1. Thank you so much, I’m glad that line worked.

  10. This was very touching. I could see the room and the chair…and feel the emotion of those who sat in the chair. Lovely.

    1. Thank you for such a nice comment, Anita. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. That is sad, Judee. You did well! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I remember the cair that my mom sat in all the time. It originally matched Dad’s but ended up worn sooooo much more.
    ..

    1. Thank you Jim, I think yes we all have our favorite chairs after a certain age.

  12. I got chills reaading this piece. That’s a good sign of even better writing.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    1. Thank you Doug, I’m glad it affected you. Nice to see you.

  13. Happier Than A Pig in Mud | Reply

    So sad.

    1. yeah… thank you for commenting.

  14. Rod’s mum had such a chair, and I do remember the last time she sat in it before she became completely bed-ridden. This brought tears to my eyes.

    1. Thank you for the comment, Judie. Sorry for the tears – maybe next tie I’ll go with something light.

  15. […] Fiction picture prompt inspired an unusual scene in Flash Friday: Green. And Jenny Matlock’s Saturday Centus was all about – a […]

Leave a Reply

